Yusaku Kamekura | Biography, Life, Work, Logos and Awards

Yusaku Kamekura

Yusaku Kamekura (1915 – 1997)

Yusaku Kamekura is widely regarded as the greatest and most influential Japanese graphic designer in history. He is often credited with introducing Japanese design aesthetic to the rest of the world and promoting graphic design as an integral element of modern society, culture and art in Japan. He created hundreds of memorable corporate identities, posters and book covers.

Born and raised in the Niigata prefecture in Japan, he studied at Tokyo’s Institute of New Architecture and Industrial Arts. Kamekura’s  unique design style incorporated a stylish and contemporary but long-lasting approach – that utilized abstract forms, planes, and lines, as well as photography – while emotionally reacting to subjects through imaginative, minimalistic use of colors. He preferred bright, mixed hues and employed primary colors very seldom. His masterful use of black in the background, for the image or the title, brought unremarkable depth and rare beauty to his work.

Kamekura created visual identities and branding solutions for Tokyo 1964 Olympics, Japanese Society for the Promotion of Science, Taiyo Kikai-Kogyo Machine Factory, Yuken-Boeki Insurance Company, Corona Automobile Model, Japan Industrial Designers Association, Taiyo Machine Industry Co., Daishowa Seishi Paper Mill, among others. He died on 11 May 1997 at the age of 82. He has numerous awards and accolades, both national and international, to his credit and his work has been exhibited widely in various art galleries and museums throughout the world.

Yusaku Kamekura Elsewhere:

Art Directors Club: 1993 Hall of Fame
Dr. Yusaku Kamekura: International Council of Graphic Design Associations


Alan Fletcher
Alan Peckolick
Allan Fleming
Anton Stankowski
Armin Hofmann
Art Chantry
Bob Wolf
Brian Tattersfield
Gaspar Saladino
Gene Grossman
Gerard Huerta
Greg Bennett
Henry Steiner
Herb Lubalin
Ivan Chermayeff
Jerry Kuyper
Joe Finocchiaro
John Lloyd
Ken Cato
Lance Wyman
Lindon Leader
Louis Fishauf
Marcello Minale
Massimo Vignelli
Michael Bierut
Michael Doret
Michael Johnson
Michael Patrick Cronan
Michael Wolff
Miles Newlyn
Milton Glaser
Morteza Momayez
Otl Aicher
Paul Rand
Paula Scher
Per Mollerup
Raymond Loewy
Robert Brownjohn
Roger van den Bergh
Sagi Haviv
Sandy Dvore
Saul Bass
Steff Geissbuhler
Stefan Kanchev
Sven Seger
Tibor Kalman
Todd Radom
Tom Geismar
Yoshitaka Amano