Tom Geismar | Biography, Life, Work, Logos and Awards

Tom Geismar

Tom Geismar (1931 – Present)

Tom Geismar is a highly regarded American graphic designer and author who is probably best known for founding one of the world’s most prestigious design firms – Chermayeff & Geismar & Haviv (formerly “Brownjohn, Chermayeff & Geismar”) – in 1957 with fellow designers Robert Brownjohn and Ivan Chermayeff.

Born in Glen Ridge, New Jersey on July 15, 1931, Geismar received a master’s degree in graphic design from Yale University, School of Art and Architecture. He created and implemented major branding and design programs for various high-profile clients such as Mobil, Xerox, PBS, Chase Manhattan Bank, Univision, Rockefeller Center, Viacom, Best Products, New York University, New York Public Library, the Statue of Liberty Museum and the Truman Presidential Library. A few of his best-known books are Watching Words Move, Spiritually Moving: A Collection of American Folk Art Sculpture, Designing, TM: Trademarks Designed by Chermayeff & Geismar, and Identify: Basic Identity Design Solutions—The Iconic Trademarks of Chermayeff & Geismar.

Geismar has numerous awards and accolades, both national and international, to his credit and his work has been exhibited widely in various art galleries and museums throughout the world. In 1985, he received one of the first Presidential Design Awards for the standardized Signs and Symbols he created as head designer of the U.S. Department of Transportation Advisory Committee.

Tom Geismar Elsewhere:

Chermayeff & Geismar & Haviv: Official profile
Tom Geismar interview
Art Directors Club: 1998 Hall of Fame


Alan Fletcher
Alan Peckolick
Allan Fleming
Anton Stankowski
Armin Hofmann
Art Chantry
Bob Wolf
Brian Tattersfield
Gaspar Saladino
Gene Grossman
Gerard Huerta
Greg Bennett
Henry Steiner
Herb Lubalin
Ivan Chermayeff
Jerry Kuyper
Joe Finocchiaro
John Lloyd
Ken Cato
Lance Wyman
Lindon Leader
Louis Fishauf
Marcello Minale
Massimo Vignelli
Michael Bierut
Michael Doret
Michael Johnson
Michael Patrick Cronan
Michael Wolff
Miles Newlyn
Milton Glaser
Morteza Momayez
Otl Aicher
Paul Rand
Paula Scher
Per Mollerup
Raymond Loewy
Robert Brownjohn
Roger van den Bergh
Sagi Haviv
Sandy Dvore
Saul Bass
Steff Geissbuhler
Stefan Kanchev
Sven Seger
Tibor Kalman
Todd Radom
Yoshitaka Amano
Yusaku Kamekura