Steff Geissbuhler | Biography, Life, Work, Logos and Awards

Steff Geissbuhler

Steff Geissbuhler (1942 – Present)

Steff Geissbuhler is often considered as one of the most important graphic designers and illustrators in history. He created and implemented major branding and design programs for corporations such as Time Warner Cable, NBC, Voice of America, Merck, Telemundo, Crane & Co., Toledo Museum of Art, National Parks of New York Harbor, The May Department Stores Companies and Darien Library.

Steff Geissbuhler was born in 1942 in Zofingen, Switzerland. He moved to Basel when he was eight years old. Geissbuhler knew he wanted to be a designer from a young age and and he spent his formative years training under Emil Ruder, Donald Brun and Armin Hofmann. He then joined the design department at J.R. Geigy, a well-known pharmaceutical company run by Max Schmid. During his three decades at Chermayeff & Geismar Inc., Geissbuhler created dozens of memorable and imaginative posters as the firm’s partner and principal. He co-founded C&G Partners with long-time partners Keith Helmetag, Emanuela Frigerio and Jonathan Alger in 2005.

Among his other accomplishments, Steff has designed architectural graphics for the IBM building in New York City and a complete sign system for the Universities of Pennsylvania and Connecticut. He also created advertising material for Mobil, Morgan Stanley, the Alvin Ailey Dance Theater, Philip Morris and Cummins Engines. He has numerous awards and accolades, both national and international, to his credit and his work has been exhibited widely in various art galleries and museums throughout the world.

Steff Geissbuhler Elsewhere:

C&G Partners
Steff Geissbuhler: 2005 AIGA Medal
Steff Geissbühler: Second Thoughts


Alan Fletcher
Alan Peckolick
Allan Fleming
Anton Stankowski
Armin Hofmann
Art Chantry
Bob Wolf
Brian Tattersfield
Gaspar Saladino
Gene Grossman
Gerard Huerta
Greg Bennett
Henry Steiner
Herb Lubalin
Ivan Chermayeff
Jerry Kuyper
Joe Finocchiaro
John Lloyd
Ken Cato
Lance Wyman
Lindon Leader
Louis Fishauf
Marcello Minale
Massimo Vignelli
Michael Bierut
Michael Doret
Michael Johnson
Michael Patrick Cronan
Michael Wolff
Miles Newlyn
Milton Glaser
Morteza Momayez
Otl Aicher
Paul Rand
Paula Scher
Per Mollerup
Raymond Loewy
Robert Brownjohn
Roger van den Bergh
Sagi Haviv
Sandy Dvore
Saul Bass
Stefan Kanchev
Sven Seger
Tibor Kalman
Todd Radom
Tom Geismar
Yoshitaka Amano
Yusaku Kamekura