Robert Brownjohn | Biography, Life, Work, Logos and Awards

Robert Brownjohn

Robert Brownjohn (1925 ā€“ 1970)

Robert Brownjohn was a world-renowned American graphic and title designer. Born in Newark, New Jersey on August 8, 1925, he incorporated sixties pop culture into his unique design style. He popularized the exploration of humor, irony and playfulness in graphic design. Brownjohn also mastered the art of designing title sequences and album covers. His work for From Russia with Love, Goldfinger and Let It Bleed is kept in high esteem.

Brownjohn started his early career working as an architectural planner in Chicago. He established Brownjohn, Chermayeff & Geismar with fellow designers Ivan Chermayeff and Tom Geismar in 1957. His impressive career was cut short due to his drug addiction. Nonetheless, he helped redefine graphic design by moving it from a formal to a conceptual art. His work reflects the avant-garde modernity, his stress on content over form, and his strong liking for ordinary and personal images.

Brownjohn died from a heart attack in London on August 1, 1970. He has numerous awards and accolades, both national and international, to his credit and his work has been exhibited widely in various art galleries and museums throughout the world.

Robert Brownjohn Elsewhere:

Robert Brownjohn: Design Museum Exhibition
The Man Who Broke the Record on ‘Let It Bleed’
Robert Brownjohn: 2002 AIGA Medal


Alan Fletcher
Alan Peckolick
Allan Fleming
Anton Stankowski
Armin Hofmann
Art Chantry
Bob Wolf
Brian Tattersfield
Gaspar Saladino
Gene Grossman
Gerard Huerta
Greg Bennett
Henry Steiner
Herb Lubalin
Ivan Chermayeff
Jerry Kuyper
Joe Finocchiaro
John Lloyd
Ken Cato
Lance Wyman
Lindon Leader
Louis Fishauf
Marcello Minale
Massimo Vignelli
Michael Bierut
Michael Doret
Michael Johnson
Michael Patrick Cronan
Michael Wolff
Miles Newlyn
Milton Glaser
Morteza Momayez
Otl Aicher
Paul Rand
Paula Scher
Per Mollerup
Raymond Loewy
Roger van den Bergh
Sagi Haviv
Sandy Dvore
Saul Bass
Steff Geissbuhler
Stefan Kanchev
Sven Seger
Tibor Kalman
Todd Radom
Tom Geismar
Yoshitaka Amano
Yusaku Kamekura