Paula Scher | Biography, Life, Work, Logos and Awards

Paula Scher

Paula Scher (1948 ā€“ Present)

Paula Scher is an American graphic artist and educator. She studied at the Tyler School of Art, Elkins Park, Pennsylvania and acquired a Bachelor of Fine Arts in 1970. She started her early career working as a record cover art director at both Atlantic and CBS Records in the early 1970s. Scher co-founded Koppel & Scher with fellow Tyler graduate Terry Koppel in 1984. She joined Pentagram as a partner in 1991 after the studio suffered from the recession.

Scher has a distinctive design style that is intricately woven into the cultural life of New York City. She has worked for a wide range of clients in every field imaginable. She has created visual identities for Citibank, The New York City Ballet, Asia Society, among others. Scher is also a prominent educator and speaker. She has taught design at the School of Visual Arts in New York for more than two decades. She also held teaching positions at the Cooper Union, Yale University and the Tyler School of Art.

Scher has numerous awards and accolades, both national and international, to his credit and his work has been exhibited widely in various art galleries and museums throughout the world. A few awards she has accomplished over three decades of illustrious career include the Chrysler Award for Innovation in Design and the AIGA Medal.

Paula Scher Elsewhere:

Paula Scher at Pentagram
Paula Scher: Biography by AIGA
Paula Scher Interview – Designboom


Alan Fletcher
Alan Peckolick
Allan Fleming
Anton Stankowski
Armin Hofmann
Art Chantry
Bob Wolf
Brian Tattersfield
Gaspar Saladino
Gene Grossman
Gerard Huerta
Greg Bennett
Henry Steiner
Herb Lubalin
Ivan Chermayeff
Jerry Kuyper
Joe Finocchiaro
John Lloyd
Ken Cato
Lance Wyman
Lindon Leader
Louis Fishauf
Marcello Minale
Massimo Vignelli
Michael Bierut
Michael Doret
Michael Johnson
Michael Patrick Cronan
Michael Wolff
Miles Newlyn
Milton Glaser
Morteza Momayez
Otl Aicher
Paul Rand
Per Mollerup
Raymond Loewy
Robert Brownjohn
Roger van den Bergh
Sagi Haviv
Sandy Dvore
Saul Bass
Steff Geissbuhler
Stefan Kanchev
Sven Seger
Tibor Kalman
Todd Radom
Tom Geismar
Yoshitaka Amano
Yusaku Kamekura