NFL Logo

NFL Logo

The National Football League, often shortened as NFL, is a professional American football league. Originally established in 1920 as the “American Professional Football Association” with 11 member teams, the NFL is now regarded as the most attended domestic sports league in the world. The league consists of 32 teams from the United States.

The current commissioner of the NFL is Roger Goodell.


Shape and Colors of the NFL Logo

The NFL logo is one of the most iconic and instantly recognizable logos in sports history. It comprises of the classic “NFL Shield” that features blue, red and white colors.

The earliest logo of NFL was introduced in 1940. It contained 25 stars and the old-fashioned pigskin football.

The current form of the NFL logo was unveiled in April 2008. A leaner and simplified version of the previous NFL insignia, it was made slightly taller and thinner carrying a new football. It also had darker colors and only 8 stars symbolizing the eighth division of AFC and NFC.

Font of the NFL Logo

The NFL logo features a custom-made typeface.