Ivan Chermayeff | Biography, Life, Work, Logos and Awards

Ivan Chermayeff

Ivan Chermayeff (1932 – Present)

Ivan Chermayeff was born in 1932 in London to Serge Ivan Chermayeff, a well-renowned Russian-born British architect and industrial designer. His family settled in United States in 1940. Chermayeff studied at the prestigious universities of Harvard, Yale and the Institute of Design in Chicago. It was in Yale where he met Tom Geismar, with whom (along with Sagi Haviv) he would later establish the leading New York-based branding and graphic design firm – Chermayeff & Geismar & Haviv – in 1957.

In his early career, Chermayeff worked for Alvin Lustig and CBS in New York, where he designed corporate identities, book covers and album covers for various clients. His work with Chermayeff & Geismar & Haviv influenced generations of logo designers, and included innovative corporate identity designs for clients such as Pan Am, Mobil Oil, Chase Manhattan Bank, NBC, PBS, Showtime and various others. The firm is often considered as one of the most influential and productive design agencies in history. It has won numerous awards and accolades, including the AIGA gold medal, the Society of Illustrators gold medal, and the Yale Art Medal.

Ivan Chermayeff Elsewhere:

Official website
Ivan Chermayeff: Designboom interview

50 Ivan Chermayeff Collages for Garrison Art Center’s 50 Year Anniversary


Alan Fletcher
Alan Peckolick
Allan Fleming
Anton Stankowski
Armin Hofmann
Art Chantry
Bob Wolf
Brian Tattersfield
Gaspar Saladino
Gene Grossman
Gerard Huerta
Greg Bennett
Henry Steiner
Herb Lubalin
Jerry Kuyper
Joe Finocchiaro
John Lloyd
Ken Cato
Lance Wyman
Lindon Leader
Louis Fishauf
Marcello Minale
Massimo Vignelli
Michael Bierut
Michael Doret
Michael Johnson
Michael Patrick Cronan
Michael Wolff
Miles Newlyn
Milton Glaser
Morteza Momayez
Otl Aicher
Paul Rand
Paula Scher
Per Mollerup
Raymond Loewy
Robert Brownjohn
Roger van den Bergh
Sagi Haviv
Sandy Dvore
Saul Bass
Steff Geissbuhler
Stefan Kanchev
Sven Seger
Tibor Kalman
Todd Radom
Tom Geismar
Yoshitaka Amano
Yusaku Kamekura